BlogWalker

Muddling through the blogosphere

Resources for Explaining Twitter

| 3 Comments

Twitter has been much in the news of late. From clips of members of Congress “tweeting” while in session to newscasters who end their late-breaking stories with not only an invitation to join the discussion on their network’s blog, but also to follow their Twitter feed. So I was not surprised during my Thursday night 2WebWatchers‘ presentation to find that parents now have more questions about Twitter than they do about MySpace.

I’ve also been following the discussions on Mike Arsenault‘s blog and Kevin Jarrett‘s blog and reflecting on my personal use of Twitter, a tool I’ve been using for about two years (thanks to a guided tour by Bud Hunt during a break out session, pub style, at a NWP Web Presence conference in Amherst MA).

So here’s my current list of favorite Twitter resources:

Twitter for me is my PLN at a glance. There’s not a day goes by that I don’t easily find gems within those 140-character chunks of resources, tips, inspiration, meaty questions – and humor.  Like Kevin Jarrett, I follow other educators – but only if they have a link to their website, so I have some idea of their educational philosophies. John Pederson, whose recent tweet lead me to the above YouTube gem, does not follow me.  I don’t care.  It would be hard to count the times I’ve logged on to Twitter just in time for one of John’s hilarious tweets.  And who doesn’t need a little humor infused into the work day?!  And lucky for me, I was able to convince our district that Twitter is one social networking service that deserves to be unblocked.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar